“Sentimental Sunday”: Wilfrid Gordon McDonald Partridge

Standard

Image

It’s Sunday, so I’m feeling rather sentimental. I chose to review Wilfrid Gordon McDonald Partridge by Mem Fox because it reminds me of my Nana. I was genuinely moved by this sweet story addressing dementia. I had to work to hold back my tears throughout the entire book. Earlier this year, I lost my Nana to Alzheimer’s disease, so this story really hit home for me. When Wilfred Gordon learns that his elderly friend, Nancy, has lost her memory, he thoughtfully sets out to find them for her. As Wilfred Gordon goes around asking everyone what memories are, he gets many different answers. Fox did an amazing job depicting how a child may interpret the complex concept of memory loss, and the genuine helpfulness that comes so naturally to children. I also love how she conveyed the message that memories may seem so different from multiple perspectives. For some they are sad, for some they are funny, and for others they’re warm and feel like home. The quirky, yet lovely, illustrations by Julie Vivas make this book even better as they flow across the seam of the book.

I recommend Wilfred Gordon McDonald Partridge for children ages 3 to 8. However, I think this is a touching story that people of any age could benefit from reading, especially those with a loved one suffering from dementia. Even as an adult, I could read this book over and over again (if a box of tissue was supplied, that is).

Reviewed by: Sara Bunch

Leave a Reply

