Sentimental Sunday: Love You Forever by Shaakira Parker

Standard

For this Sentimental Sunday, I chose Love You Forever by Robert Munsch, illustrated by Sheila McGraw. I chose this book because there is something simple and beautiful, but powerful about the story being told. Robert Munsch manages to successfully capture the emotional relationship between a mother and her child. The story focuses on the nurture and growth of a boy from infancy to adulthood under the care and unconditional love of his parents.

        

I love this book because it is highly relatable. I remember my mom use to read this book, to  my brother and me when we were little, before we went to bed. And I am sure many people my age can look back and remember being read this book. It was and still is the perfect way to fall asleep – being reminded that you are loved no matter what.  Robert Munsch has created a timeless book that is meaningful to people of any age., whether that be first time parents or young readers. It has a meaning that can be felt by anyone.  You simply cannot read this book without getting emotional. All parents should buy this book and all teachers need to have a copy of this book in their libraries.

“I’ll love you forever
I’ll like you for always
As long as I’m living
My baby you’ll be.”

Leave a Reply

