Traditional Thursdays: Go, Dog. Go!

Standard

Go,Dog. Go!P.D Eastman’s classic Go, Dog. Go! was first published in 1961, and over 50 years later it’s still a crowd favorite. This book was commonly requested as a bedtime story in my household, and I can recall countless nights reading this book with my father and sister.

I think part of why this book has aged well is that it’s so simple. These dogs do everything from drive cars, wear silly hats, ski, swim, and throw parties in trees. The book is hilarious and engaging, and the simple concept, repetitive text, and classic hand-drawn illustrations  make it the perfect book not only for bedtime but also for young independent readers. It’s an excellent starter book to reinforce vocabulary, opposites, sentence structure, and rhyme. The book has become increasingly accessible over the years as well, with electronic and adapted versions readily available to meet the needs of diverse classrooms and students.

This book holds a special place in my heart as a key part of my childhood reading memories, and I have a feeling it will continue to hold it’s appeal when I have my own children or classroom. Here’s to another 50 years!

-Madeline Santulli

Leave a Reply

